California American Studies Association

 

About CASA

Since it was founded in 1981, CASA has always been an open, inclusive regional organization devoted to promoting the field of American Studies, particularly in California. Our annual conference regularly welcomes undergraduate and graduate students, K-12 educators, college and university faculty, and community members. Membership in the American Studies Association is not required of conference presenters and attendees.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

CASA is pleased to announce the winner of the 2017 Jackie Donath Graduate Student Paper Prize: Najwa Mayer from Yale University for her paper "Securing Punk(s): Building a (Feminist) Taqwacore Culture of Dissent in the War on Terror". They will be presenting this paper with other regional prizewinners at the national ASA meeting in November in Denver.

CASA MeetingS

Every other year, CASA sponsors an academic conference to bring together scholars working in and around the field of American Studies. CASA 2019 will be held at San Diego State University. Recent conferences have been held at Cal State Long Beach, the University of California Berkeley, San Diego State University, The Claremont Colleges, Soka University, and Cal State Fullerton. 

 

CASA Officers

President: Elaine Lewinnek, California State University, Fullerton (elewinnek@fullerton.edu)

Vice Presidents: Dustin Abnet, California State University, Fullerton (dabnet@fullerton.edu); Justin Gomer, California State University, Long Beach (justin.gomer@csulb.edu

Treasurer: Ed Blum, San Diego State University (eblum@mail.sdsu.edu)

Representative to the Regional Chapters Committee: Brett Mizelle, California State University, Long Beach (brett.mizelle@csulb.edu)

Community Representatives: Ray Kibler III, Independent Scholar (ray.kibler.iii@ecunet.org); Peter Stearns, Independent Scholar

Engagement Director: Brande Jackson, California State University, Fullerton (brjackson@fullerton.edu

Student Representatives: Darcy Anderson, California State University, Fullerton (darcystaniforth@csu.fullerton.edu)

Links to American Studies Programs in California