Margarete Liebe Sekhon Graduate Scholarship (Discontinued)

The Margarete Liebe Sekhon Graduate Scholarship in American Studies provided an annual award of $1,000 to a student accepted for fall semester admission to the Master's Program in American Studies at CSUF. Scholarly merit and financial need are considered in determining the recipient of the award. The cash award is issued directly to the recipient to be used at their own discretion. Recipients must be currently enrolled for fall semester and carrying a minimum of six units of credit toward their graduate study plan.

Eligibility for this scholarship requires an overall grade point average of 3.2 for the last 48 units of undergraduate study AND a minimum grade point average of 3.5 for all upper-division coursework in the field of your declared undergraduate major as well as any upper-division American Studies coursework for non-American Studies undergraduate majors.

Profile of Donor/Honoree: Margarete Liebe Sekhon, long time resident of Fullerton and former CSUF student, was a model of a life lived well: she embraced life in her love of learning and sense of community responsibility.  Margarete spent most of her time helping the less fortunate as a caregiver to both inbound developmentally disabled children and the elderly throughout Orange County.  An avid student of languages, Margarete also was an accomplished artist, having earned a Master's degree in Art with a style marked by bold colors and landscapes, especially trees.  Her wide ranging interests reflect her verve and sense of humor; she was an ecologist, an amateur linguist, a self-styled gourmet cook, a poetess, a mother, and a Boy Scout den mother who made her troop learn how to bake for merit badges.  Indeed, the lessons she taught continue to instruct those who knew her long after her premature death to cancer.  This fellowship is intended both as a respectful memorial to her life's many labors as well as a reminder of the lasting strength of her spirit.  



2017-18 Alexander Foy
2016-17 Clayton Finn
2015-16 Darcy Mahoney
2014-15 Jasmin Gomez
2013-14 Kacie Hoppe
2012-13 Tatiana Pedroza
2011-12 Jose Zamora
2010-11 Steven Estrada
2009-10 Rahima Schwenkbeck
2008-09 John DeCarlo
2007-08 Jennifer Moore
2006-07 Matt Nelson
2005-06 Kimball Maw
2002-03 Carla Melissa Anderson


Melissa Anderson Kimball Maw Matt Nelson John DeCarlo

Margarete Liebe Sekhon Graduate Scholarship recipients: Melissa Anderson; Kimball Maw; Matt Nelson; John DeCarlo